Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

How Leaders Misjudge Situations and People and What To Do About It

Ever misjudged someone's actions as a character flaw? Discover how leaders often confuse situational behavior with personal traits.

This is the premium edition of Great Leadership. If you’ve been a free subscriber and like what you see, how about taking things up a notch? Get your hands on weekly videos like the one in this email, deep dives from yours truly and amazing guests, access to the full content archive, and the ability to message me directly (new feature!). You can likely get this covered as a professional development expense at work.

Upgrade to Premium


Hey, everyone, welcome to another five minute leader, I am back again, in Florida this time I'm in Orlando last time I was doing a series of these videos, I was in Palm Beach and I'm here doing an event for a vendor just gave a talk for around five or so 100 people did a book signing a q&a session. And now I have my coffee here and wanted to do a video for you based on some of the things that have been coming up not just today, but over the past few weeks. Coffee is so good.

Today's video is all about a concept called fundamental attribution error. And you might be familiar with this concept, maybe not. But I wanted to explain it because it came up in a discussion I just had with a leader. And so the best way that I can introduce the concept is have you ever been at a restaurant, and the waiter brings you food, and they're kind of snappy, maybe they have an attitude, they're just not delivering the type of service that you would expect. And your immediate initial reaction is, oh, man, that person is such a jerk, I'm gonna go get them fired, I'm gonna go get them in trouble, I'm gonna go talk to their boss, we're similarly Have you ever been stuck in traffic, and then you see people, you know, somebody swerving through the lanes, and they cut you off and you're like, Ah, you son of a bee and you're cursing and screaming and freaking out, and you get very upset? Chances are that has happened to you. I know that it's happened to me.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Future Ready Leadership With Jacob Morgan to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Future Ready Leadership With Jacob Morgan
5-Minute Leader
Weekly 5 minute videos that provide leadership strategies & tips used by the world's top CEOs, thinkers, and leaders. All of them are practical, actionable, and tested and designed to make you a great leader!