Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
1

How Leaders Foster Confidence with the Trust Equation

Discover how the trust equation can revolutionize your leadership approach by building deeper confidence and loyalty among your team. Learn from the insights of Charles Green and leaders like Chris Ni
1

This is the premium edition of Great Leadership. If you’ve been a free subscriber and like what you see, how about taking things up a notch? Get your hands on weekly videos like the one in this email, deep dives from yours truly and amazing guests, access to the full content archive, and the ability to message me directly (new feature!). You can likely get this covered as a professional development expense at work.

Upgrade to Premium


Welcome to today's five-minute leader. Today I wanted to go over something that came up in a podcast that I did with Chris Nicholas, the CEO of Sam's Club. It's something that he reminded me about, but it's also something that I explored many, many years ago. And it's something that was developed by Charles Green, who wrote a book called The Trusted Advisor. And in that book, Charles has something called the trust equation, which I have next to me here, which is why I'm glancing to the side. And, you know, I had Charles Green on my podcast many, many years ago. And yeah, I haven't really thought much of the trust equation recently until Chris brought it up. And we were talking about how leaders can build trust.

And he said that one of the things that he uses is this trust equation, and I wanted to go over it because now that I reviewed it and kind of refreshed my memory with what it is, I think it's actually an incredibly useful tool for leaders out there. So, the trust equation is how you, as a leader, can become more trustworthy. And the equation is as follows. So trustworthiness t equals credibility, plus reliability, plus intimacy, divided by self-orientation. And I quickly want to go through what these things are, and why they're so important and why they help create trust for you as a leader.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Future Ready Leadership With Jacob Morgan to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Future Ready Leadership With Jacob Morgan
5-Minute Leader
Weekly 5 minute videos that provide leadership strategies & tips used by the world's top CEOs, thinkers, and leaders. All of them are practical, actionable, and tested and designed to make you a great leader!