Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

A Leader's Job Is to Absorb Pain

Leadership might seem like a cushy job from the outside, but the reality is far more demanding. Discover why true leaders absorb the most difficult challenges and what that means for their teams.

This is the premium edition of Great Leadership. If you’ve been a free subscriber and like what you see, how about taking things up a notch? Get your hands on weekly videos like the one in this email, deep dives from yours truly and amazing guests, access to the full content archive, and the ability to message me directly (new feature!). You can likely get this covered as a professional development expense at work.

Upgrade to Premium


As a leader, your job is to absorb pain. Everyone, welcome to another episode of the Five Minute Leader. For all of you premium subscribers, thank you so much.

Today's video, and I can't remember where I heard this concept. It was either in a podcast or in an interview, something that

I came across over the past few months. Maybe it was even a guest on my podcast, but if I find who it is, I'll credit them after I remember where this concept came from. But I really love this idea that leaders absorb pain. Leaders absorb the pain of their people.

Now, I'm not talking about physical pain. I mean pain in the sense of stress, in the sense of anxiety, pain in the sense of having to make a difficult decision, having to be accountable. This is important because so many of us around the world look at leaders, we look at leadership, and we think it's this nice, cushy job, this wonderful position. Once you get into that leadership role, you've made it. But the truth is that the hardest job you can have is that of a leader.

And I've interviewed and worked with 1000s of leaders, probably over two to three thousand of them, most of them CEOs, whether it's interviewing them on my podcast, interviewing them for my books, speaking at their events, advising them, whatever it might be. Every single one of these leaders works harder than pretty much anybody I've ever met. They care more and do more than everybody else, which is a concept that Frank Blake, the former CEO of the Home Depot, shared with me.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Future Ready Leadership With Jacob Morgan to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Future Ready Leadership With Jacob Morgan
5-Minute Leader
Weekly 5 minute videos that provide leadership strategies & tips used by the world's top CEOs, thinkers, and leaders. All of them are practical, actionable, and tested and designed to make you a great leader!